Home  I CSO StoreContact 

CSO Radio - Reviews/Features - Indie Artist Spotlight - Interviews - Artist Sites - Links

Craig Morgan - My Kind of Livin'
Broken Bow Records

Album Review by Cheryl Harvey Hill

The first song released from Craig Morgan's My Kind of Livin' album, '"That's What I Love About Sunday," has clearly struck a harmoniously familiar chord with a lot of folks and given him the first number one hit of his three album career. Ironically for Morgan, a most prolific songwriter who had a hand in writing eight of the twelve songs on this album, this song wasn't one of the ones he penned but no need to despair, I'm certain it is only a matter of time before he lays claim to an industry triple crown (singer/songwriter/producer) award. When Morgan sings "I'm Country," we all know he isn't just singing; he has clearly mastered the fine art of setting life to music and he isn't afraid to put his money where his mouth is either. In addition to co-writing, he co-produced this album with fellow songwriter and good friend, Phil O'Donnell.

The album has its share of soulful ballads, two-steps and waltzes; "Lotta Man (in That Little Boy)," "Cowboy and Clown" and "Rain for the Roses" all pay heartrending homage to love and life but, for me, it was a toss up between the tender rhythm and verse of "That's When I'll Believe That You're Gone" and the romantic sentiment of "If You Like That."

There are several spirited, up-tempo songs to give the album a nice balance but "I Got You" is definitely one of the best. Morgan says he was inspired to write it while touring with Keith Urban and witnessing Urban's high energy live performances. His intent was to write the song for Urban but he says that when he went into the studio to record the demo; he realized that this was definitely meant to be his song. That was not the case, however, when he wrote "Blame Me"; Morgan actually had Brad Paisley and John Conlee in mind when he wrote this song (with Phil O'Donnell and Tim Owens) so he was extremely pleased when Paisley and Conlee agreed to join him in the studio to record it. 

Some artists confine themselves to one genre while others speak only to one generation but a talent like Morganís, who easily recognizes the poetry in every day life, is capable of going beyond both.


Rating: BUY IT!

Craig Morgan - My Kind of Livin' CD track list:

1. That's What I Love About Sunday 
2. I Got You 
3. That's When I'll Believe That You're Gone 
4. I'm Country 
5. Lotta Man (In That Little Boy) 
6. If You Like That
7. Ain't The Way I Wanna Go Out 
8. Redneck Yacht Club 
9. Rain For the Roses 
10. Blame Me 
11. Cowboy And Clown 
12. In My Neighborhood

Did you like this album? did you hate it? Submit a "Real People Review"
RPR Rules

Real People Reviews


Reviews/Features I Indie Artist Spotlight I Interviews I Artist Sites I Links I News I CSO StoreContact 
Copyright © 2000 - 2010 CountryStarsOnline.com - All Rights Reserved - Site Designed by Jim Weaver Productions