Home  I CSO StoreContact 

CSO Radio - Reviews/Features - Indie Artist Spotlight - Interviews - Artist Sites - Links

Kickin' Out The Footlights... Again
Jones Sings Haggard, Haggard Sings Jones
Album Review By: Cheryl Harvey Hill, Sr. Staff Journalist

The promo blurb for Kickin' Out the Footlights...Again! says "Two Icons - One Legendary Album" (fourteen new recordings). Webster's dictionary defines an icon as "An important and enduring symbol. One who is the object of great attention and devotion." That is most definitely an accurate description of Merle Haggard and George Jones.

According to the liner notes, Haggard and Jones first met at KUZZ radio station in Bakersfield, California in 1962 when both arrived at the station to play their new singles. For those of you that aren't too quick with the math, that was 44 years ago. Haggard says that Jones "was already a star. I was just starting out and in awe of being in the room with him. He was my hero." Jones says of that encounter, "...boy could he sing and write. No one has come along since then that is any better than Merle Haggard. He is my favorite singer."

Obviously, a genuine friendship grew from that meeting and they have shared the stage, and delighted audiences, many times over the course of their careers since then but it has been twenty-five years since they have been in a studio together. In 1981, much to the delight of country music fans everywhere, they recorded "Yesterday's Wine," an album of ten songs that begged for an encore and although it took a quarter of a century to get one; I guarantee that it was worth the wait.

On this album they take turns singing each others hits and they throw in four duets, including the title cut, which was written by Haggard. What you get is classic country in its purest, most enjoyable, form. The liner notes refer to them as two of the architects of the country music sound. I would certainly agree with that but I would probably want to make note of the fact that they are also two of the most unique voices in country music and when you put them together, the end result is enjoyment at its ultimate best but still in its purest form.

Click on the CD cover to order yours!
1. Footlights - Merle Haggard, , George Jones 
2. Race Is On - Merle Haggard 
3. Way I Am - George Jones 
4. She Thinks I Still Care - Merle Haggard 
5. All My Friends Are Strangers - George Jones 
6. Things Have Gone to Pieces - Merle Haggard 
7. I Think I'll Just Stay Here and Drink - George Jones 
8. Born with the Blues - Merle Haggard, , George Jones 
9. Sick, Sober & Sorry - Merle Haggard, , George Jones 
10. I Always Get Lucky with You - Merle Haggard 
11. Sing Me Back Home - George Jones 
12. Window Up Above - Merle Haggard 
13. You Take Me for Granted - George Jones 
14. Don't Get Around Much Anymore - Merle Haggard, George Jones 

Related Links:
Merle Haggard Official Website   
George Jones Official Website  

Did you like this album? did you hate it? Submit a "Real People Review"
RPR Rules

Real People Reviews


Reviews/Features I Indie Artist Spotlight I Interviews I Artist Sites I Links I News I CSO StoreContact 
Copyright 2000 - 2010 CountryStarsOnline.com - All Rights Reserved - Site Designed by Jim Weaver Productions