Home  I CSO StoreContact 

CSO Radio - Reviews/Features - Indie Artist Spotlight - Interviews - Artist Sites - Links


Billy Currington - Self-Titled Debut
CD Review by Cheryl Harvey Hill

CD Review:
Billy Currington's bio says that he found his strength in songwriting and at the ripe old age of twelve, he wrote the heartbreaking chorus to his current hit, "Walk A Little Straighter", which tells the story of a child watching his alcoholic father stumble through life. Before videos became the norm, songs were judged primarily on their lyrics which is why so many of the classics are great story-songs. With so much emphasis placed on the videos, lyrics have sometimes taken a backseat to visual interpretation and the music can be redundant. It is refreshing to hear an album that contains eleven songs and, not only do they each sound different, but nearly every one of them tells a story that you can relate to in some way.

When Currington performed for the first time at the Grand Ole Opry his performance reduced the house to tears. "I stepped aside after introducing Billy on the Opry and watched him 'connect' with the audience about as fast as any young artist I have ever seen. I predict a great future for this fellow Georgian," exclaimed legendary singer/songwriter Bill Anderson. After listening to his self-titled CD in it's entirety, I'm sure that Anderson's words will prove to be prophetic.

Currington had a hand in writing ten of the eleven songs on this album and like many of his predecessors, his current popularity has made him one of those "ten years in the making/overnight successes." He lists Haggard, Willie, Waylon and Keith Whitley as his musical influences so it comes as no surprise that he has traditional country music fans lining up, but Currington's strong baritone has also managed to strike a harmonious chord with the pop country followers as well. This is one to definitely watch. I think he's signed on for the long haul.

Billy Currington - Debut CD track list:

1. I Got A Feelin'
2. That's Just me
3. Hangin' Around
4. Off My Rocker
5. Walk A Little Straighter
6. Where The Girls Are

7. Time With You
8. When She Gets Close To Me
9. Growin' Up Down There
10. Next Time
11. Ain't What It Used To Be

Rating: Buy It!

Website Review by Jim Weaver:
Singing Site Alert! Billy's current single is coming at you whether you want it to or not when the site opens so if you're at work turn those speakers down. You do have the ability to turn it off though. Billy's site is a very nice looking professionally done website for sure but it is a little lacking in some of the extras that fans like to have. There are some pictures but not many, no message board or chat room, no fan club or contact information, however you can join his street team. Although it is a partial FLASH site the estimated download time for a 28.8 modem is 37 seconds and that's not bad at all. Overall, looks good, just needs more stuff. 

Rating: Needs More!

Please visit the
website for yourself.


Reviews/Features I Indie Artist Spotlight I Interviews I Artist Sites I Links I News I CSO StoreContact 
Copyright 2000 - 2010 CountryStarsOnline.com - All Rights Reserved - Site Designed by Jim Weaver Productions