Home  I CSO StoreContact 

CSO Radio - Reviews/Features - Indie Artist Spotlight - Interviews - Artist Sites - Links

Gary Allan - See If I Care
Information below culled from Gary's website, for the complete Bio story go to www.GaryAllan.com.

Artist Profile:
Gary Allan is Nashville’s best-kept secret. And maybe that’s because this, Orange County, California-born cowboy surfer who still makes his home in Huntington Beach, finds his frequent touring takes him far from Music Row.

The musical influences on See If I Care, his fifth album, also travel a great distance, but remain true to Gary’s roots. Gary’s love of country idols like Merle Haggard, Waylon Jennings, George Jones, Willie Nelson, Buck Owens and Lefty Frizzell are blended with an appreciate for fellow So Cal rockers like the Blasters, X and Jane’s Addiction to create his own unique style.

The aching torch ballad “Tough Little Boys,” could be Allan’s biggest hit yet. The single comes on the heels of his recent #1 hit, “Man To Man,” from 2001’s Gold-going-on-platinum Alright Guy, which also had a #3 smash in “The One.” He recently introduced “Tough Little Boys” into his live shows and was stunned by the instant response it evoked.

The new album, produced by Allan with longtime collaborator Mark Wright (Lee Ann Womack, Brooks and Dunn), features many of the same musicians he’s played with previously, including keyboardist Steve Nathan, drummer Chad Cromwell, electric guitarists Brent Rowan and Michael Rhodes, acoustic guitarist John Willis, with Dan Dugmore and Robby Turner on steel.

The production leaves in the rough edges, especially on the raucous honky-tonk of guitarist Mike Henderson’s rowdy “Drinkin’ Dark Whiskey” and the south-of-the-border Tex-Mex accordion strains of “Guys Like Me.” Allan shows his gentler side on the plaintive, Roy Orbison-by-0way-of Chris Isaak blues of the Jamie O’Hara-penned “See If I Care,” and on Brice Long, Odie Blackmon and Byron Hill’s sensuous “Nothing On But The Radio,” with its sawing fiddle and weeping steel guitar.

See If I Care reveals Gary Allan as a sturdy traditionalist who’s not afraid to embrace the future, a man who unabashedly mixes country with rock. A “Tough Little Boy” who has grown into an impressive guy.

Gary Allan - See If I Care track list: Buy It!

1. Drinkin' Dark Whiskey 
2. Can't Do It Today 
3. Tough Little Boys 
4. See If I Care 
5. Songs About Rain 
6. I Can Love You 

7. Don't Look Away 
8. Guys Like Me 
9. Nothing On But The Radio 
10. You Don't Know A Thing About Me 
11 A Showman's Life 

Website Review by Jim Weaver:
Gary's website is one of those where they do a real nice job of using but not abusing FLASH. It's there but it doesn't dominate. In fact the load time is outstanding, for a 28.8 modem it's a screamin' 2.44 seconds. I'm not sure how they do that, but I'm willing to learn! Content-wise it's pretty complete, with music clips, his latest video, message board, fan club info and much more.    

Rating: Great job!

Please visit the
website for yourself.


Reviews/Features I Indie Artist Spotlight I Interviews I Artist Sites I Links I News I CSO StoreContact 
Copyright © 2000 - 2010 CountryStarsOnline.com - All Rights Reserved - Site Designed by Jim Weaver Productions