Home  I CSO StoreContact 

CSO Radio - Reviews/Features - Indie Artist Spotlight - Interviews - Artist Sites - Links

Keith Urban - Be Here 
Capitol Nashville Records 
Album Review by Cheryl Harvey Hill 

As I listened to this CD I found myself lost in the songs, not just the music. I love albums that draw you into the feeling and cause you to lose track of time. It isn't difficult to understand why Urban has been able to carve himself such a comfortable niche' in the hearts of music fans, of all genres, around the world. He delivers each song with so much empathy, passion and conviction. Whether the song is a slow, romantic ballad or a rollicking kick-ass tune, you find yourself drawn into the music and your emotions are pushed and prodded by lyrics that are convincingly and passionately delivered.

*"Well I can't believe I'm sittin' here today, picking on my banjo with a big smile on my face. Writin' new words to an old school melody. Hey there ain't no doubt that God's been good to me."

I wasn't at all surprised to receive a press release that says he is the most successful Australian male artist in the world and his third solo album Be Here has already made its mark on the USA Pop Chart (Billboard 200) with a huge #3 debut and the ARIA Chart at # 11. It went on to say that the first single released from the album "Days Go By" gives Urban his 8th consecutive top five US hit, breaking "Air Supply's" record for an Aussie artist on the US charts. The song currently sits at #1 for the fourth consecutive week giving Urban his 5th #1 chart topper in the USA. 

*"Oh the sun is shinin' on down in Tennessee and right now I'm right where I wanna be. I've never felt so loved, so peaceful and so free. Hey there ain't no doubt that God's been good to me."

Urban had a hand in writing eight of the thirteen songs on this album and he also co-produced the album. The quality and style of this CD demonstrates how much he has grown as a singer and a songwriter and clearly illustrates that his popularity is well deserved. He is as skilled at writing songs as he is as singing them and his vocal dexterity is matched by his amazing instrumental agility. 

*"'Cause He put me smack dab in the middle of paradise in the heart of the city where my dreams have come alive and everything I have and everything I see is just another reminder that God's been good to me."

Although he is often accused of leaning towards "rock" music, the lyrics in songs he had a hand in writing are most definitely grounded in true "country." Just give a listen to "Days Go By," "God's Been Good To Me" and "You're My Better Half." Urban also has great wisdom when it comes to selecting songs written by others. "Making Memories of Us" is a soothing, romantic ballad written by Rodney Crowell, "Nobody Drinks Alone" is a haunting ode to lost love written by Matraca Berg and Jim Collins while "Country Comfort" was written by Elton John and Bernie Taupin. There are several other really good songwriters who contributed to this album but Urban seems to have found a strong writing partner in Monty Powell.

*"This golden road's been long and sometimes I've lost my way. I've been down some darkened detours, leanin' heavy on my faith. But where the devil had me chained, Lord your love done set me free. Hallelujah! God's been good to me."

Urban is probably one of the most prolific and complete entertainers in any genre of music today. He has it all. Looks, talent, charisma, compassion (St. Jude Children's Research Hospital has been a constant recipient of his kindness for years) and like all truly great artists, he only gets better over time. Keith Urban is like a rare diamond and each album reveals a new facet; each one reflecting greater depth and more brilliance. I would definitely agree with Urban; God has been very good to him, indeed. 

*lyrics from "God's Been Good To Me" - written by Keith Urban

Rating: BUY IT!

Keith Urban - Be Here track list: 

1. Days Go By 
2. Better Life 
3. Making Memories Of Us 
4. God's Been Good To Me 
5. The Hard Way 
6. You're My Better Half 
7. I Could Fly 
8. Tonight I Wanna Cry 
9. She's Gotta Be 
10. Nobody Drinks Alone 
11. Country Comfort 
12. Live To Love Another Day 
13. These Are The Days 

Website:  www.KeithUrban.net

Did you like this album? did you hate it? Submit a "Real People Review"
RPR Rules

Real People Reviews

Keith Urban has a way a pulling in "new to country" listeners with his rockin country, it makes people that are just getting into the country scene comfortable. I have become a huge Keith Urban fan, along with my mother and 15 year old sister. We went to his concert and we were hooked!!!!! He has that certain something that makes you tap your foot and wiggle a little in your seat. Love the new album and all the old ones too!

Greetings from Australia!
I just had to write and tell you all about the sheer exhilaration that Keith and his fans experienced at his concert in February in his hometown of Brisbane, Australia.

Keith threw open the concert with 'Days Go By' and reminisced about playing the Waterloo Hotel to six(!) people in Brisbane in 1991. He was so excited to play in his hometown to a full house and as his band was 'Brisbane virgins' as he put it, really put in a show to remember.
In fact, Keith got so excited during 'Blacktop', he jumped the stage and ran around the stadium while still playing lead guitar. After that, he caught his breath and told about visiting his old high school, Caboolture High School,and said he had to come back to get his fill of 'Cherry Ripe' and 'Polly Waffles' (Australian candy bars). 

All in all, a great night to remember for Keith , his band and his audience and a wonderful showcase of the fabulous Be Here

Best wishes,
Greg - Toowoomba, Australia

Before BE HERE was released, I thought to myself that I would never love any album of Keith’s like I did GOLDEN ROAD, but after l bought BE HERE and listened one time I was hooked!! I thought to myself, Keith has done it again!! I love every song on this album and can’t get enough of it. His voice is just amazing…so smooth and clear. Like Ms. Hill (above) said, Keith just gets better and better. I use to be very guilty of not really listening to the messages in a song, but Keith’s are so simple and down to earth and so much sung and written from his heart. Keith’s talents are so unbelievable. He truly has a fan for life in me!! 
- Gloria


I will refer to this CD by using a song title from another Australian artist, Air Supply; I was “Lost In Love” with this CD. What a wonderful emotionally charged gathering of songs!!! This album just continues to show the emotional depth and soaring talent of this artist, Keith Urban. I will wait breathlessly for his next release, until then I will continue to listen and be “lost in love” with his newest collection!!!!!


Reviews/Features I Indie Artist Spotlight I Interviews I Artist Sites I Links I News I CSO StoreContact 
Copyright © 2000 - 2010 CountryStarsOnline.com - All Rights Reserved - Site Designed by Jim Weaver Productions