Home  I CSO StoreContact 

CSO Radio - Reviews/Features - Indie Artist Spotlight - Interviews - Artist Sites - Links

Dionne Chinn - Where Does Love Go From Here 
By: George Peden, CSO Staff Journalist

My first take on Dionne Chinn, a lady with the vibrant vocals from Nashville, is voice, style and presence. It’s a pleasing combination. It’s well caught in fan raves in her bio…”Outstanding!”…”Excellent voice with sincerity”. But besides heaped praise about the album, a question comes posed in the glowing resume. Does originality mean anything any more? Listen to Where Does Love Go From Here (Salt-H20 Records) and we have our immediate answer – yes!

From the moment this licensed pilot (she earned her wings in ’87) hits high gear with the opening rocker, “I’m Gonna Wreck It”, you know this isn’t any Nash Vegas wannabe. Rather, what’s on offer is a performer who easily tackles the vocal theatrics on an album covering most moods.

For Chinn, a mother of one daughter and who counts Wynonna, Tina Turner and Etta James as her inspirations, and Travis Tritt as the main man she’d love to tour with, Where Do We Go From Here proves, and convincingly, the worth of Chinn’s sojourn through the crowded learning circuits. Since her ’99 arrival in Nashville, she’s paid her dues, fully, at Tootsies, the Broken Spoke and Legends Corner. Now on an album paying homage to a passed sister on “Where Does Love Go From Here”, and respected nods to The Hag, George, Waylon and Loretta on “Country From My Boots On Up”, to album favorite “Taking’ The Wheel”, a determined honesty Chinn grabs with controlled emotion, doing the Allan Miller penned tune proud, this album is a keeper.

While fans stack the praise for the lady who took her start from fronting a family band, a well aimed backslap needs to go to producer, Charles English, who double dips as guitarist with the able session band. English has sidestepped the formula-based riff and twang confines of Music Row. By doing so, he’s allowed Chinn her space and creative freedom – the result speaks for itself. For Chinn, who counts her main hobby as ridin’ a Harley, has collaborated on five of the cuts, and, as a relative unknown commodity, shows passion, craft and lyrical strength. 

“Must Have Been Crazy” – one of the co-writes – is a love-soaked familiarity telling of a woman’s weakened will in the face of love. “Where Does Love Go From Here” poses questions. Questions Chinn answers sincerely, as she tells of her sister who died in 2003.

“Where does love go from here/ Once you’ve cried all your tears/ Tell me now…when your heart sinks that low/with only pictures left to show..”

Dionne Chinn has taken a while to find her way to wider publicity. Pity. This album, released late 2004, proves a late arrival doesn’t mean missing the voyage. This is a strong, emotive, crafted album. It comes signed, sealed and distinctively Dionne Chinn.

I can’t wait for her next.

Click on the picture above to order your copy now!

1: I’m Gonna Wreck It
2: Didn’t We
3: Must Have Been Crazy
4: Where Does Love Go From Here
5: House Of Broken Love
6: After The Night Is Gone
7: Country From My Boots On Up
8: What Kind Of Man
9: I Want It All
10: Taking The Wheel

Related Links:
Official Site  

Did you like this album? did you hate it? Submit a "Real People Review"
RPR Rules

Real People Reviews


Reviews/Features I Indie Artist Spotlight I Interviews I Artist Sites I Links I News I CSO StoreContact 
Copyright © 2000 - 2010 CountryStarsOnline.com - All Rights Reserved - Site Designed by Jim Weaver Productions